Polystyrene and sustainable development?

Among the wide variety of insulation materials on the market, PopUp House selected graphite expanded polystyrene to use for its building system. How does this material fit in with a commitment to sustainable development?

ADVANTAGES OF POLYSTYRENE

This material is one of the best insulators on the market: for example, to have the same performance as 30 cm thickness of EPS (PopUp wall thickness), you would need 37cm of wood fiber insulation. This performance does not translate into added cost. On the contrary, EPS is one of the least-expensive insulation materials on the market.

Thanks to this choice in material, PopUp House is able to accomplish its ambition of making the passive house accessible.

EPS has another advantage: it is delivered in the form of rigid, lightweight insulation blocks, making for a quick and easy installation. It doesn’t shrink or contract over time.

Expanded polystyrene, one of the materials used in a PopUp House | PopUp House

POLYSTYRENE AND SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

This type of polystyrene is composed of 98% air. The remaining 2% comes from the upcycling of a product derived from oil refining: naphtha. Since it is unusable as fuel, it would become waste if it wasn’t used to make polystyrene. EPS is created in a process where tiny balls of styrene are expanded with water vapor (without adhesive or solvent). The base component, the monomer styrene, is a naturally-occuring substance found in plants.

Contrary to popular belief, EPS is not bad for your health or the environment. The material holds a Fiche de Déclaration Environnementale et Sanitaire (FDES – product lifecycle analysis) in France. It is inert, stable over time, non toxic, and non pollutant. For these reasons, it is often used as food packaging since it does not cause allergic reactions or sickness. Similarly, it does not attack water or soil. No protection is required when handling EPS. The EPS used by PopUp House is also fire-resistant: it will therefore not ignite during a fire and does not emit any gas.

CARBON FOOTPRINT OF EXPANDED POLYSTYRENE

Today’s great environmental concern is the reduction of our carbon footprint. In this challenge, EPS represents an advantage: at equivalent thermal performance leves, the carbon footprint of a house insulated with EPS will be better than that of a brick house and comparable to that of a wooden house insulated with wood fiber.

Why?

  • Little energy and water used during production
  • Little transport of materials as it is produced locally
  • Little worksite-related transport thanks to rapid installation (fewer trips required for employees)
  • Little waste: instructions on how much EPS to cut are provided in advance by PopUp House in order to reduce unused excess materials. PopUp House also developed a hot wire-cutter tool to eliminate waste created during the cutting process.
  • Enables low energy consumption
  • 100% recyclable: every year, 7 000 tons of EPS are recycled to create new products. The EPS used by PopUp House contains between 5 and 15% recycled EPS.

Learn more about the life cycle of a PopUp House.

 

Is PopUp House a Net-… energy positive house The PopUp House concept: an innovative wood house with a pre-insulated structure | PopUp House What is the PopUp Hou…

Polystyrène et développement durable?

Parmi tous les isolants disponibles, PopUp House a sélectionné le polystyrène expansé (PSE) graphité pour son système constructif. Comment ce matériau s’intègre-t-il dans une politique de développement durable ?

Les atouts du polystyrène

Ce matériau est l’un des meilleurs isolants sur le marché : à titre d’illustration pour avoir la performance de 30cm d’épaisseur de PSE (épaisseur du mur PopUp), il faudrait 37cm de fibre de bois. Cette performance ne se traduit pas par un renchérissement du prix, bien au contraire : c’est l’un des isolants les moins chers du marché.

C’est par ce choix que PopUp House peut accomplir son ambition de rendre la maison passive accessible.

Le PSE a un autre atout : il se présente sous la forme de blocs d’isolants rigides et légers : faciles et rapides à mettre en oeuvre, ils ne se tassent pas dans le temps.

Polystyrène expansé : matériaux utilisés dans une PopUp House

Polystyrène et développement durable

Ce PSE est composé à 98% d’air.  Les 2% restants proviennent de la valorisation d’un dérivé issu du raffinage du pétrole : le naphta. Inutilisable en tant que combustible, il deviendrait un déchet s’il n’était pas utilisé dans la production du polystyrène. Le PSE est créé par l’expansion de billes de styrène avec de la vapeur d’eau, sans solvant ni colle. Ce composant de base, le monomère styrène, est présent dans les plantes à l’état naturel.

Contrairement aux idées reçues, le PSE n’est pas mauvais pour la santé ou l’environnement. Disposant de Fiche de Déclaration Environnementale et Sanitaire (FDES), il est inerte, stable dans le temps, non toxique et non polluant. C’est pour cela qu’il est souvent utilisé comme emballage alimentaire car il ne déclenche pas d’allergie ou de maladie. De la même manière, il n’attaque ni les eaux, ni les sols, et ne nécessite aucune protection pour sa manipulation.  Le PSE utilisé par PopUp House est par ailleurs ignifugé : ainsi il ne s’enflamme pas lors d’un incendie, et ne dégage aucun gaz.

Impact carbone du polystyrène expansé

L’enjeu écologique majeur est aujourd’hui la réduction de l’impact carbone. Dans cet objectif, le PSE représente un atout : à performances thermiques équivalentes, le bilan carbone d’une maison isolée avec du PSE sera meilleur que celui d’une maison maçonnée et comparable à celui d’une maison bois isolée avec de la fibre de bois.

Pourquoi ?

    • Peu d’énergie et d’eau à la production
    • Peu de transport de la matière car produit localement
    • Peu de transport lié au chantier car rapide à mettre en oeuvre (moins de transport des employés)
    • Peu de déchets : un plan de découpe prévu à l’avance par PopUp House permet de réduire le surplus de matière non utilisé. PopUp House a aussi développé des outils de découpe à fil chaud afin de supprimer les déchets provoqués lors de la coupe.
    • Permet une très faible consommation d’énergie
    • 100% recyclable : chaque année 7 000 tonnes de PSE sont recyclées pour obtenir de nouveaux produits. D’ailleurs le PSE utilisé par PopUp House contient entre 5 et 15% de PSE recyclé.

Apprenez-en plus sur le cycle de vie d’une PopUp House.

Sources : Polystyrène expansé et développement durable – éditions Peyrolles

Comment PopUp répond… le bloc ossature bois PopUp House : une maison bois innovante Quel est le concept P…